Mom, Thank you for…

I’m afraid that my mom (aka Toby) thinks I don’t appreciate her. So I thought I’d write a list of just a few of the things that I appreciate her for.

  1. The genes (except for the thin hair and slow metabolism). I wish I was taller; but I’m healthy, strong, relatively smart, confident and pretty enough. I’m counting on longevity genes too. I inherited your stubbornness; but believe it or not, I sometimes wish I was even more stubborn/competitive (career-wise). I inherited your love of cooking (and eating—but I won’t thank you for the latter either)
  2. Raising me. I don’t have children of my own, so I don’t have a whole lot of insight into the amount of work it takes to get a person through babyhood and childhood (the feedings, shopping, bathing, dressing, shuttling, homework help, school related events etc.). But I know it was a lot of work and I appreciate it.
  3. All those great meals. When I am a guest at your house or on vacation in the Carribean, the meals are always exceptional and I don’t think to tell you how much I appreciate the work that went into them. I always feel special when you make a favorite meal or dish, like spaghetti for my birthday when I was young or city chicken for a special occasion or the liver paté that is mainly just for me. Your cooking is was makes Christmas –Christmas, the homemade caramels and chex mix etc. I love that you are a creative cook. I remember when we moved from Alabama to New Mexico, how you taught us to appreciate New Mexican food. You made stuff we’d never heard of like huevos rancheros and chili rellenos. And you still cook Pennsylvania Dutch stuff (scrapple!), Southern dishes (black-eyed peas) and New Mexican food. You have raised very adventurous eaters who can appreciate foods from any culture.
  4. Values and morals. I’d love to be gorgeous and skinny and rich and I suppose college degrees are important symbols of accomplishment, but I don’t obsess about these things. Instead I value relationships, learning, productivity, health and creativity. I’d rather be kind and compassionate than than famous or powerful.
  5. The example of a strong marriage based on mutual respect. At times I thought you two were pretty old-fashioned, but even so, you loved and respected each other and I could appreciate the compromises and adjustments that were made, often gradually over the years. I love that you two have happy hour on the porch (or in the pool) whenever possible and that you still love traveling together and that you are at a point in your lives where you are not afraid to spoil yourselves a little bit every now and then. I look forward to a retirement just like yours.
  6. College tuition and all the fabulous trips. I believe these made me more adventurous, worldly? and tolerant.
  7. A close family. I love that we all get together at least once a year and that we call each other on the phone every few weeks (if not every week). Thank you for keeping our family close in spite of the distances.
3 Responses

  1. Can’t think of a thing to say….that was very nice. Thank you!! I love my family very much!!!

  2. Awwww! That is sweet! You have a wondeful mom.

  3. I think both you and your mother are lucky to have each other
    Bill

Leave a Reply

