A cereal review

cereal-bar-copy.jpg

Since I haven’t posted in a while, I thought my next post should be something earth-shattering, important and personal. But instead…

I bought a box of Special K with chocolate chips yesterday. For some reason it made me think of the chocolate cereals (that made the milk into chocolate milk) that I loved as a kid. Aldo sometimes uses the phrase “kind-of gimicky, kind-of good” for items that catch your attention for a gimicky reason, but that are just good enough that you’d buy it again. Special K cereal on the other hand, is kind-of gimicky, not-so-good. First of all, the gimmick is a little misleading. When I think of Special K, I think to myself….’it’s not supposed to taste good, it’s good for me and it will make me skinny.’ This is what the marketing folks have brainwashed me to think. So when I see Special K with chocolate chips, I think to myself ‘ok, I can eat chocolate for breakfast and lose weight’. Of course my logical brain knows that this is not realistic, but I bought it anyway. The biggest problem is that Special K gets soggy too fast. Secondly, the chocolate chips have a weird tendency to leave an oily coating in your mouth. Of course this is expected with a chocolate chip which contains fat. But when it’s in a cold cereal, the texture is disturbing. Sort of like eating cold french fries. If you want chocolate with your cereal, I would recommend instead, a homemade cereal bar.